Another example of predictive programming

Once a video game junkie, my interest in them has dropped dramatically since I woke up. These days, I would rather read a history book than play a game, but I like to keep an eye on what is pushed onto the unsuspecting public. Video games have become powerful tools to program the young for the future they will see and the best examples are the myriad of war shooters that take place in locations eerily similar to the Middle East. There is a new game called “Homefront” coming out next month and it’s message isn’t pleasant.

The premise is simple enough: The North Koreans have invaded and are occupying the U.S.A. and you are part of the new American revolution that will expel the enemy. The North Koreans? Really? Right off the top of my head, I can think of another, stronger “enemy” that actually has the population numbers required to launch an attack AND occupy the landmass of the U.S. Ignoring this glaring oversight, I was more interested in other visual clues in the trailer. I won’t spoil it for you, but if you’ve been doing your homework, you’ll see what I’m talking about.

Homefront game trailer

2 responses to “Another example of predictive programming

  1. You might be right. But what about the fact that North Korea is an obvious threat and gamemakers just want to take advantage of that and offer an interesting storyline to gamers?

    • I understand your point of view, but I’m not really concerned with who the “enemy” might be. They could have easily substituted any other country in this game. Personally, I was struck by the images of robotic sentries, Warsaw ghetto-like neighborhoods, mass graves and Reaper drones flying over the land.

Leave a Reply

